Yoga is derived from the Sanskrit word “YUJ”.  “Yujyate Anena iti yogah”- Yoga is that which joins. What are the entities that are joined as per the Indian traditional it is joining of Jeevatma with Paramatma (the individual self with the universal self). Asanas are one of the aspects of Yoga. Asana alone is not Yoga.

Patanjali Mharshi Says  “Yogah Chitta Vritti Nirodha” which means Stilling / Quiting the fluctuations of mind.

Yoga mainly deals with awareness, even in asana practice also we are trying to establish our awareness on our body, mind and breath to bring them together/ align them together.

According to Patanjali Maharshi there are 8 limbs in yoga which is termed as Astanga yoga and these limbs are as follows

  1. Yama
  2. Niyama
  3. Asana
  4. Pranayama
  5. Pratyahara
  6. Dharana
  7. Dhyana and
  8. Samadhi

In Bhagawad Geeta Lord Srikrishna Says on yoga as:

  1. “Samatvam Yogam Uchyate” which means Yoga brings equanimity in us.
  2. Yogah Karmasu Koushalam” Means Dexterity / Skillfulness in action.

At an out set I can say that YOGA is a science of right living or it is a way of life itself which not only works on the physical aspects but also on the mental, emotional, psychic, vital and spiritual aspects of every one of us.

Om tatsat